September 27, 2013

Discover Freedom

Most yogis feel freer when they look inward and choose poses that are healing and nurturing—even if that means doing something different than what they originally thought they'd do. This insight is spelled out in the eight limbs of classical ashtanga yoga, which ultimately lead to samadhi, or freedom.

The first limb is yama, a group of five qualities that can be summed up as "self-restraint" or "control." Among other things, the yamas teach us about ahimsa (nonviolence) and satya (truthfulness). So when you apply nonviolence and truthfulness to your practice—avoiding poses that don't feel right or that might cause injury—you eventually reach a place of freedom.


Definition of Ashtanga

200 Key Sanskrit Terms

Newsletter Subscription Information

Sign Up For Daily Insight

Did a friend forward you this email? Sign up for your own free email newsletter by visiting

Change Your Current Email Address or Unsubscribe

Do not reply to this email to unsubscribe. You are currently subscribed as: `eMail`. Please visit Yoga Journal's Email Preferences Page to change your preferences or to unsubscribe.

Missing Issues?

Please add to your address book to prevent your email system from filtering our newsletters as spam.


Please send comments about content or suggestions for how to improve this newsletter to

Magazine Customer Service

For magazine subscription concerns such as back issues, address changes, and account status information, please visit our customer service department at

Copyright © 2011 Cruz Bay Publishing, Inc,
an Active Interest Media company
300 Continental Boulevard, Suite 650, El Segundo, CA 90245 | Unsubscribe | Privacy Policy | Customer Service

If you are having trouble reading this email, please visit
Please add to your Email Address Book or Safe List to ensure the delivery of this newsletter to your inbox.