8 Limbs of Yoga

Work With Asteya (Non-Stealing) on the Mat

Use asana, mantra, and mudra to help bring into focus the unique ways this yama plays out in your life.

For exclusive access to all our stories, including sequences, teacher tips, video classes, and more, join Outside+ today.

Asteya translates to “non-stealing” and reminds us that we have all that we need; that we should act from a place of abundance instead of scarcity. To incorporate asteya into your own life and practice, start with the posemudra (hand-and-finger gesture), and mantra (a sacred utterance repeated continuously) below. Do this practice on its own, add more poses with the accompanying 10-minute video sequence, or link all of the yamas and niyamas together, one pose as a time, forming a sequence.

Asteya Yoga Practice

Hold the pose, with its mudra, for 3–5 breaths, mindfully chanting, aloud or internally, its accompanying mantra.

asteya, coral brown, warrior 3, virabhadrasana 3

Asana: Virabhadrasana III (Warrior III Pose)

Warrior III reminds us to seek balance in all aspects of life. From Crescent Lunge, place your hands at your heart and shift your weight forward. Lift your back leg until it parallels the earth, initiating movement from the inner thigh to maintain level hips.

asteya, hasta mudra, coral brown

Mudra: Hasta (Hand) Mudra

Add a heart-opening element with Hasta (hand) Mudra, a gesture of both offering and receiving. Reach your arms out and radiate your upturned palms, releasing the fear of not having enough.

Mantra: Om shrim lakshmiyei namaha

Summon the power of Lakshmi, the goddess of light and abundance, by chanting Om shrim lakshmiyei namaha, an invocation of her name and what she stands for. If you feel you have all you need, you won’t need to take it from someone else.

See also Open Your Eyes—and Meditate

Watch the video

To tie it all together or to deepen your work around asteya, try this heart-opening 10-minute practice with Coral Brown.

Make it a sequence

If you are doing these yama and niyama practices as a sequence, repeat Warrior I (Ahimsa), Crescent Lunge (Satya), and Warrior III (Asteya) on the left side.

PREVIOUS YAMA PRACTICE Satya (truthfulness)
Aparigraha (non-possessiveness)
RETURN TO Live Your Yoga: Discover the Yamas + Niyamas